Harrison Township Zoning Commission Organizational Meeting/Working Session February 6, 2024

Members present: Christine Johnson, Gerald Arnott, Laney McLaughlin, Tracy Kelley,

Gerald Saffo (alternate) and Douglas Williams (alternate).

Absent: Brad Sager Gerald Saffo will be a voting member due to the absence of Brad Sager.

Also present: Valerie Hans, Zoning Inspector and Vickie Noble, Zoning Secretary.

The meeting was called to order at 7:03 p.m. by Vickie Noble with all standing for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Introductions of the new board members, Gerald Arnott and Alternate Douglas Williams.

Ms. Noble called for nominations for Chair of the Board for 2024.

Laney McLaughlin nominated Christine Johnson. Tracy Kelley seconded.

Vote: Christine Johnson-yes, Gerald Arnott-yes, Laney McLaughlin-yes,

Tracy Kelley-yes, Gerald Saffo-yes

Ms. Johnson will serve as Zoning Commission Chair for 2024.

Ms. Johnson called for nominations for Vice Chair for 2024.

Gerald Arnott nominated Laney McLaughlin. Tracy Kelley seconded.

Vote: Christine Johnson-yes, Gerald Arnott-yes, Laney McLaughlin-yes, Tracy Kelley-yes, Gerald Saffo-yes.

All board members were in favor of keeping the same meeting schedule, meeting on the first Tuesday of the month. If any additional meetings are needed, they will be held on the third Tuesday of the month or other dates as needed. There will be no meeting on August 6, 2024.

Ms. McLaughlin moved to approve the minutes from December 5, 2023.

Ms. Kelley seconded. The motion passed with unanimous ayes.

A date of February 20, 2024 at 6:30 pm has been confirmed for a Zoning Information/Training Session facilitated by attorney Pete Griggs. The session will be a joint session with the BZA.

The board was given updates on the Trustee meetings and township issues.

Many residents are questioning the possibility of a Dollar General on State Route 16 in front of Ellington Village.

The board was given paperwork and information on the Harrison Township Harassment Policy.

At 8:05 p.m. Ms. McLaughlin moved to adjourn. Ms. Kelley seconded. The motion passed with unanimous ayes.

Respectfully submitted Vickie Noble, Zoning Secretary Christine Johnson, Chair

Page 1 of 1

Harrison Township Zoning Commission February 6, 2024

Final - Approved