BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF HARRISON TOWNSHIP LICKING COUNTY, OHIO MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING JULY 20, 2021

The Harrison Township Trustees met in regular session on July 20, 2021 at the Township Hall. The Chairman, Mark Van Buren, called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and he led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance. The Fiscal Officer called the roll, and the following members and guests were present.

Trustee Mark Van Buren
Trustee Eric Smith
Trustee Ray Foor

Fiscal Officer Carolyn Elder
Zoning Inspector Valerie Hans
Road Superintendent Ben Patterson

Guest Larry Kretzmann, SWLCW&SD

Guest Deb Moore

From the floor – Larry Kretzmann, SWLCW&SD

Mr. Kretzmann reported that the four corners at Refugee Road and State Route 310 have developers interested. He reviewed other activities of the district and answered questions.

Road Report – Ben Patterson, Road Superintendent

Ben reported that Terracon engineers have completed the borings for the Refugee Road Retaining Wall Project and are waiting on test results.

- -Ray Foor moved to approve a purchase order to Shelly Materials for \$10,000.00 for material to patch roads. PO 20-2021 will be closed. Eric Smith seconded the motion. Roll call: Van Buren YES, Smith YES and Foor YES. The motion passed.
- -Eric Smith moved to approve change order #1 for The Shelly Company for the 2021 Resurfacing Project. PO 49-2021 was approved on 7/7/21 to cover change orders. Ray Foor seconded the motion. Roll call: Van Buren YES, Smith YES and Foor YES. The motion passed.

Zoning Report - Valerie Hans, Zoning Inspector

- Valerie reviewed and discussed several properties in the township with new or ongoing violations with the trustees.
- ➤ Valerie would like to add a Business PUD to the Zoning Resolution for the township. The trustees agreed.
- Valerie updated the trustees on items that the Zoning Commission is working on.

Chairman Mark Van Buren ask the Board who they would like to have on the Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee. Discussion was held and a list was made.

-Mark Van Buren moved to appoint the following residents as members of the Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee:

- 1. Deb Moore
- 2. Tom Wheeler
- 3. Gerald Arnott
- 4. Ryan Bailey
- 5. Eric Smith

Ray Foor seconded the motion. Roll call: Van Buren YES, Smith YES and Foor YES. The motion passed.

-Eric Smith moved to approve the following:

- 1. The minutes of the July 6, 2021 regular meeting
- 2. Payment advice 185-2021 through 191-2021
- 3. Warrants 17977 through 17989

Ray Foor seconded the motion. Roll call: Van Buren YES, Smith YES and Foor YES. The motion passed.

The fiscal officer reported that for 2022 BWC, the township will participate in the Ohio Township Association Group rating program with a savings of 44% instead on the One Claim Program with a 5% discount.

The Board is invited to the ribbon cutting ceremony for the Watkins Memorial High School and Watkins Intermediate School on August 8, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

The Fiscal Officer read various pieces of correspondence and passed out Financial Reports for the trustees to review.

Being no further business, Chairman Mark Van Buren adjourned the meeting at 10:45 a.m. Minutes are unofficial until approved by the trustees.

Respectively Submitted,

Carolyn I. Elder
Harrison Township Fiscal Officer